Spicy “Miso Soup” with rice noodles and veggies

Hello everyone!

Finally I have got round to writing my first recipe. I’m really nervous about that. I hope you will like it :)
But without further ado let’s get down to it!

Miso Ramen

I was thinking a lot about what I can make as my first recipe and I had many many many ideas, like some butternut squash salad or buckwheat pancakes with some green filling or even something as simple as millet with greens. But then on Saturday, when I was about to cook and take pictures I thought: ‘hmm… actually, I have a desire for some Asian food, for something spicy and with long long noodles‘. I don’t know how about you, but these noodles in Asian cuisine are one of my favourite things, apart from rice and sushi of course.

Miso Ramen

At first I wanted to make Pho so I came up with a recipe with vegetable stock, red cabbage, carrots, onions, mushrooms etc. – all this good stuff basically. At the very beginning I followed what I’ve written, but when I tasted the soup I felt like it needed something. Something else apart from soy sauce and teriyaki. And then I thought of miso paste, which I absolutely love. It is really delicious and adds a perfect, like salty and sweet taste to all Asian soups. I also ended up adding a dash of sesame oil, which I wanted to avoid at the very beginning just like the miso paste so that it would be an almost real vegetable Pho, but it turned out a bit like Miso Ramen or just Miso Soup with some toppings and noodles.

It turned out very tasty. As much as I love the miso flavour it had I also appreciated its spiciness, because I overdosed sambal oelek. But it was fine with me and I ate the leftovers for today’s dinner with great pleasure. If you like Asian food, spicy food and long noodles of any kind then give this recipe a try, you will not be disappointed, I promise!

Miso Ramen

So actually here I present to you my twist on a very popular Japanese… Miso Ramen! Probably you know that Miso Ramen is a soup adapted from Chinese Ramen to suit Japanese cuisine and it is very similar, but with one exception. It is has a key ingredient – miso paste. It adds that different kid of flavour I spoke about earlier, which I personally adore. The broth is usually made with meat or seafood and of course the leftovers from cooking the soup are later put into the bowl alongside with some veggies and eggs (sometimes) and Ramen noodles. I really like this dish and it even better when it is made vegan!

Ok, let’s get into the recipe.

Spicy “Miso Soup” with rice noodles and veggies

This miso soup will definitely satisfy your need for spiciness and rice noodles. The spiciness is from sambal oelek, miso paste gives it its significant flavour, veggies are super delicious – red cabbage, carrots and onions – and rice noodles are the finishing touch. Try it and let me know! :)

Prep time: 20M
Cook time: 30M
Total time: 50M
Serves 2

Ingredients:
2 cups red cabbage, cut into thin strips,
2 medium sized carrots, cut into thin strips,
1 chopped onion,
2 mushrooms (I used champignons), chopped into chunky pieces,
1 clove garlic, minced,
fresh ginger,
finely chopped chives, fresh cilantro and a few leaves of baby spinach, to decorate your bowls,
1 Tbsp coconut oil,
½ tsp sambal oelek,
rice vinegar,
4 cups vegetable stock,
1-2 Tbsp soy sauce,
1-1½ Tbsp teriyaki,
15g miso paste,
freshly ground black pepper,
sesame oil,
1 serving (50g) rice noodles.

Instructions:

1. Prepare the red cabbage, carrots, onion, mushrooms, chives and garlic. Then set aside and prepare your wok.
2. Melt coconut oil over high heat and grate some fresh ginger (to your liking), add garlic and sambal oelek or less if you don’t like it as spicy. Quickly stir and keep an eye not to burn the garlic!
3. Add onions and mushrooms and sauté for a bit. Then stir in the cabbage and carrots and pour in a bit of rice vinegar. This will prevent cabbage’s discolouration, so that it will look nice and purple all the time.
4. After it has been sautéed over high heat for some time lower the heat and pour in vegetable stock. Be careful, it might sputter! Season to taste. Add freshly ground pepper, soy sauce, teriyaki, miso paste and a dash of sesame oil.
5. Once you’re satisfied with the taste add rice noodles, stir, cover and cook for around three minutes or according to rice noodles’ package instructions (or you can use other type of noodles, it’s up to you). After 3 minutes pour into little bowls, top with fresh chives, cilantro and baby spinach. Voilà!

So that’s about it for my first recipe. I hope you will like it!

Please leave a comment telling me if you liked it and if you added or changed anything. I’d love to know that! Because then I could change something and improve it :)
And of course if you recreate it please send me photo (all social media up there and on your right) or leave a comment telling me you did!

Have a great day everyone ^^

Hugs,
Adela

2 thoughts on “Spicy “Miso Soup” with rice noodles and veggies

  1. funkycarrots November 19, 2015 / 8:36 pm

    This looks so yummy! I am excited to try this, I love ramen style soups. Keep up the good work ^^

    Liked by 1 person

    • Peas and Love November 21, 2015 / 9:31 pm

      Thank you so much ^^ I love ramen too. Actually, I would not mind eating it every single day :D

      Like

Leave a Reply

