Healthy oat-banana muffins

It finally happened. I tested my abilities with these muffins. Why? I am good at backing from a recipe, but usually when I try to invent something it doesn’t turn out how I wanted it to. What is more, I used to bake cakes and cookies that weren’t vegan… So when I was starting on preparing these I had really dark thoughts. I anticipated them to come out, I don’t know, maybe a bit under-baked or not sweet enough, too dense, too moist or that they would not rise at all. But as you can see on these photos they came out pretty good-looking :3

IMGP3301 (2)

I decided to change a non-vegan muffin recipe to a vegan one, just to make it easier. The original recipe called for yoghurt or buttermilk, so I used coconut milk instead, the same with eggs – I used flax egg and a banana. I also wanted to make this flour-less because I’ve noticed I don’t react very well to flour-based products such as bread and so on. It’s not that I am gluten intolerant, but I gain weight when I either indulge or simply eat  a piece of bread a day and as I am really (still :/ ) concerned with how I look I try to avoid flour as much as possible, just to be on the safe side. That’s why I opted for making my own oat flour as it contains little if any gluten and obviously oats are very good for you. They help with digestion with their high fibre content that flushes away any “leftovers” in your intestines and they contain a lot of vitamins and minerals such as:

  • B1 for better digestive and nervous function
  • B2 for aid in cell reproduction and growth
  • B5 for beautiful hair colour and moisturised skin
  • manganese for strong bones
  • iron for healthy blood cells
  • phosphorus for strong teeth,bones and immune system
  • zinc for treating acne

you should eat lots of oats if you work with your brain, any students out there? ;)

IMGP3302 (2)

I put all the ingredients together and hoped for the best. They turned out very good, but I added too much salt, which I shouldn’t have done and they were too salty. However, they are still rich, moist and delicious! I think they taste a bit like banana bread. So please do not add 1 teaspoon of salt into the batter. Just opt for a pinch or none. It should be perfect then :)

I wrote in the recipe card that you need ½ a teaspoon of salt, but that is a mistake and you really should add only a pinch or nothing if you prefer it that way.

IMGP3314 (2)

While shooting for this post I got into photography. It’s so much fun setting up a tripod, changing the settings in a camera so that it would catch as much or as little light as possible thus making the most beautiful photos. And the editing later on… it’s actually pretty relaxing I should say ^^

All and all, as for my first attempt at vegan baking they are very delicious and I will definitely make them more often. They have an oat and banana flavour to them and if you’re worried about the coconut, then don’t be because you can barely taste it!

IMGP3324

If you like rich and moist muffins that are healthy, then give this recipe a try. You won’t be disappointed! You can always add something from yourself like a dash of cinnamon for better digestion and flavour or some vegan chocolate chips, blueberries, raisins, cacao powder, coconut flakes or shredded coconut… Options are endless with these! This recipe yields about 12 muffins.

If your try them out, please let me know. Leave a comment or send me a photo on instagram! @peasandloveadela

Healthy oat banana muffins

Hugs
Adela

Leave a Reply

