Christmas #2: Gingerbread cookies time!

Hello gingerbread men!

It is right now the perfect time to bake. To bake gingerbread cookies of course. It’s Christmas time, isn’t it?

I love Christmas. It is apart from spring my favourite time of the year. Everything is covered with snow, lights are shining everywhere and try to get through the snow that’s covering them, Christmas decorations surround us, we get to decorate our own Christmas tree that will give off a beautiful smell of forest… But there are other things I love about Christmas. People are generally nicer to each other. There seem to be no problems at all. There is this atmosphere of love and happiness and I prefer it much more to the sad and gloomy atmosphere that surrounds us the whole year. I would love if everyone was that happy as during Christmas their whole life! Don’t you think the world would be a much better place where everyone wants to live?

IMGP3417

As you can tell, I am super excited for Christmas! I already started preparing food, which I absolutely love to do before Christmas, because first, I can cook all the time and second, polish Christmas food is super delicious. I’ve already made pierogi, uszka and gingerbread cookies. Ok, today I am cooking another batch of these cookies because they’re so good and I think the first portion would be a bit too small, bearing in mind the amounts of food my tinny tiny family consumes. I think I won’t have time to decorate them, but me and my boyfriend decorated the first portion I baked and they turned out so pretty! And the time spent with him was as always amazing.

IMGP3504

I will also make kutia, because why not. It is cooked wheat with poppyseeds, raisins, walnuts and other dried fruit and nuts of choice. Literally, I can eat this poppyseed paste on its own. It is so good! It will be hard for me to left just a tiny bit for my family, I swear.

But let’s get to the recipe.

IMGP3499

This is not my original recipe. This is by Gena Hamshaw from Food52.com – Stress-Free Vegan Holiday Gingerbread Cookies. They are divine, I am telling you. Super crunchy, sweet and full of holiday flavours. I actually altered the recipe a little bit. I swapped molasses for honey (I know I know not entirely vegan, but that’s what I had in the pantry) because I can’t find molasses anywhere. I also used regular Dark Muscovado sugar as it has that ‘gingerbready’ taste, which we really need here. I think this taste would originally come from molasses, so if you’re not using molasses swap it for honey and add muscovado sugar, because then you’ll have this gooey and sticky consistency from honey and that taste from sugar. Also, I am always using a gingerbread spice mix. I don’t measure it or anything, I just add however much I want – when the flour is darker and has an amazing smell. Cookies saved.

IMGP3422 (2)

And I have to tell you one thing. It is really hard not to eat raw dough before cutting cookies. I was so bad at this! But… how can you resist such a good cookie dough, huh? You can’t.

Me and my boyfriend decorated them with home made sugar icing in white and blue. They turned out so so pretty! We definitely discovered our cooking and artistic skills then.

IMGP3507

If you struggle with finding a good recipe for gingerbread cookies then definitely give this one a try. It is super simple to put together and it is easy to roll out the next day. It doesn’t rip, you can roll it super thin or super thick. However you wish!

IMGP3428 (2)

Gingerbread cookies

Prep Time: 30 minutes and overnight and
Cook Time: 30 minutes
Total Time: about 1 day
Yields ca 90-100 very thin and small cookies

Ingredients:
2 2/3 cups all-purpose flour (plus extra for rolling),
1 1/2 tsp baking soda,
1/2 tsp baking powder or use only baking soda and remember to add something acidic like a bit of lemon juice or apple cider vinegar,
1 tsp cinnamon,
1 tsp ground ginger,
1/2 tsp ground cloves,
1/2 teaspoon salt,
1/2 cup molasses or honey,
1/2 cup melted coconut oil,
1/4 almond, oat, rice or soy milk,
1 tsp vanilla extract.

Preparation:
1. Sift dry ingredients together in a bowl.
2. In another bowl beat together melted coconut oil, molasses or honey, vanilla extract, sugar and milk.
3. Gradually add the dry to the wet ingredients and mix to combine. When the dough gets too sticky and thick to use a mixer just use your hands to combine the rest of the dry ingredients.
4. Place the dough on a plastic wrap and form a disc shape. Cover with another plastic wrap and chill overnight.
5. Preheat the oven to 180° C/ 350° F.
6. Roll out the dough and cut desired shapes. Place them on a parchment paper on a baking sheet and bake for 8 minutes or until the edges are slightly browned and golden.
7. Store in an air tight container if you want them to be nice and crispy. If you prefer them to be gooey than don’t do that and let them soak all the water from the air.

 

Decorate them later as you desire. I opted for a traditional powdered sugar icing. Mix together in a bowl hot water and powdered sugar. If it is too liquid add more sugar, if it is too stiff ad more water. Just keep adding more sugar and water as you reach your desired consistency. I prefer my icing to be not so liquid because I don’t like the final look it gives, but it is up to you. You can also play around with different colours like we did here and use food colouring. Be creative!

IMGP3496

Have fun and let me know if you enjoyed this recipe. Tag me on instagram @peasandloveadela and show your creations ^^

Merry Christmas,
Adela

Leave a Reply

