Day #5: Consumerism – good or bad & finding true happiness

IMGP3775_3

I am a bit late, I know, but yesterday I came home pretty late and I was so tired that I couldn’t gather my thoughts.

Anyway, day 5 went pretty smoothly. I woke up, ate breakfast and embarked on working on that translation for my mum. For breakfast I had oranges with tahini and shredded coconut. This combo is life, let me tell you. Especially when oranges are in season, then it is a perfect mix of sweet, sour and well… tahini. Just try it when oranges are in season, you’re going to love it. I made myself before leaving a quick semolina porridge. I hadn’t had this stuff in ages! It was delicious especially with coconut and rice milk, peanut butter and homemade sweet plum juice. Perfection.

Ok, now on to what I was doing that day. I went shopping because I really needed to change my wardrobe. I still have in there clothes that I no longer wear and which have to be donated or kept for my children in the future. A big clearance is coming up, ahahahah! Oh, and tell me please in the comments if you would like me to make a haul of some sort :)

A lot of people are fixated on this concept of “having” nowadays. We want to possess way too much clothes, furniture, equipment etc, generally expensive stuff, which we don’t really need except for showing off. We base our self-worth on what we have and on what we don’t have and cannot afford to have. We compare ourselves to others who are far richer than us, in terms of money of course.

And this is extremely bad.

This consumerism mindset that we as a society have is bad and messed up. We constantly want more and more and more, therefore we work more and more and more and forget about true things that matter in life such as love, friendship, kindness, compassion and happiness. Speaking of happiness, we have this mindset that if we own more than we are happy. Well, we couldn’t have been more wrong.

Possessing things does not make anyone happy, truly happy. True happiness comes from within ourselves. We can create it ourselves, just by changing our values and perspective.

You don’t need to have millions of dollars and a huge house to be happy. Actually, this will most likely make you depressed because you would not have any friends and family whatsoever as you destroyed them with your pursuit of money. Money does not bring happiness.

I am not saying that we should be homeless and own nothing, don’t work etc. This is all important because who doesn’t want to live a decent life? We want to be comfortable and feel safe that we will never end up homeless. What I am trying to say is that we should set our focus on something else, put work and money aside. Our main focus should be family, friends and love towards every living being. Work should be something we do to ensure ourselves and people we care about a decent and safe life. The same concept applies to money and owning things. Go on and buy clothes, household goods, cars or consumer electronics if you can afford them as they make your life easier and more pleasant. But don’t go shopping only because you have to wear new clothes every week because you can only wear one thing once. That is completely wrong and messed up!

I see a lot of people constantly going shopping when they don’t need to since they already have everything. They just want to have another bag, which by the way costs another 500$, because the old one is unfashionable  any  more or they can’t afford this 500$ bag but they buy it because they want to be popular and in style. How crazy is that??? We should by clothes when we need them because they are broken or not our size any more and not when they aren’t fashionable!

Well, some fashionistas out there might disagree with me on this topic, but I just want to help people who are in this circle of buying more and getting more depressed. I want them to understand that happiness comes from within ourselves and from shifting our perspective. So please, look for love around you, make amazing friendships, love other earthlings and create that happiness that you really want for the rest of your life. Ask yourself: do I really need all this money? all this new clothes? a new car?

Peace and love to you all, remember to be kind to every living being and to spread compassion and happiness wherever you go.

Adela

Leave a Reply

