Madrid Day #3 : Day off

This day was amazing. We first went to see Cerralbo Museum, which is located in a house of Enrique de Aguilera y Gamboa who was Marquis of Cerralbo and it houses the collection of its former owner. I have very little photos from there but I hope you’ll get the gist :)

IMGP3949-1

IMGP3985

The exhibition is a whole house and it basically is a collection of paintings, furniture, living goods and even some armour. Just a big house of a very wealthy man. But how beautiful it was! I was stunned when we first walked in. Its huge rooms, all decorated in different styles are just breath-taking. It was, for me at least, one of the best places we visited during out stay because I personally prefer architecture and home decorations to paintings. Of course there were a few paintings here and there but the majority of the stuff was furniture and home decorations. Amazing.

IMGP3986-1

IMGP3988

After admiring the house we were given some free time. I wanted to buy my mom a little gift for Mother’s Day which was on the day I took off to Madrid. I spotted the other day a Lush shop and I had to visit it as there are no shops of this brand in Poland yet (I hope). Finally when a sales assistant helped me understand what was written on the label and showed me how amazing the Rub Rub Rub body scrub was (vegan of course) along with a body conditioner I fell in love and bought the exfoliator. I also picked up a pumice exfoliating block and a thick moisturiser for heels for my mom. The girl was so nice and gave me and my friend samples of face masks for our skin types. So nice! I am so far loving the body exfoliator and I am definitely going to buy a new jar after I finish this one. The mask though… I am not a very big fan of it. But I am hoping to try one day their like more thick facial moisturisers and I hope they would not make me break out. If you tried any of their facial moisturisers please share your experience in the comment section below! ^^

IMGP3959-1-1
A flower at the Cerralbo Museum

Also, I and my friends have spotted the Feast’s Corpus Christi procession. There were so many people watching and an orchestra with trumpets and drums was playing whilst children holding a cross attached to a platform on their arms and as usual a member of clergy was holding the Blessed Sacrament. It was very solemn and dignified and just beautiful.

IMGP4009-1
Palacio Real

Then it was lunch at the same restaurant as the day before. Of course the food was amazing and again I got a different dish. This time I ate a big bowl of iceberg lettuce with tomatoes, carrots, olives and white asparagus followed by rice with tomato sauce and fried zucchini. For dessert I got baked apples which did not look very pretty so there is no photo of that ;) As usual everything was delicious.

IMGP4012-1

IMGP4017-1

When we got home we had a little bit of free time and in the evening our second director and attendant took us to Primark as most of the girls really wanted to. I spent quite a lot of money there but I bought presents for everyone. I hope they will like them! Oh, and a few pieces for myself including shorts, t-shirt and sunglasses. They were so cheap! My shorts were 13 euros, t-shirt was 2.50 and sunglasses were 1.50. Like seriously?! In Poland I would pay at least 7 euros for a t-shirt but usually it would be about 10 if not more, for shorts 18 euros but on a sale so normally about 25 euros and for sunglasses 9 to 10 euros because the quality was not the best. I was so amazed by how cheap this store is. Please, we need Primark and Lush in Poland. PLEASE! *cries desperately*

And yes, I think that was it that we did that day. I hope yours was great too! ^_^

Peace and love to you all, remember to be kind to every living being and to spread compassion and happiness wherever you go.

Adela

Leave a Reply

