The best vegan chocolate cake

I am not joking. This chocolate cake was a heaven in my mouth. It was so rich, creamy and delicious. For any polish people out there, it was a perfect murzynek that I have never accomplished before, even with dairy and eggs! It always came out to dry and dense and simply plain. But this cake… oh my God… it will change your life.

pro-cam

I wanted to make something vegan that no one would guess it was to wind my aunt and uncle up and tell them that they were eating a vegan cake when they were finished. I know, cruel, but so worth it ;) I was browsing the net and I came across this Simple Vegan Chocolate Cake by the one and only Minimalist Baker. The ingredients looked normal in comparison to other vegan cakes’ recipes where the ingredient list is extremely long and some of the products are unavailable to the average person. Dana, the author of the blog and the recipe was obviously touting and gloating over the cake telling the readers how delicious and amazing it was. I have tried some of her recipes before so I knew I could believe her description and gave that marvellous cake a go. And neither me nor Dana was wrong.

pro-cam

This cake does not taste healthy or vegan. It literally tastes like a perfectly made murzynek or just chocolate cake. Everybody at our party tucked in the cake like there was no tomorrow. And the winding went beyond perfect. When I told them that that cake was vegan I thought their eyes would pop out ahaha.

This would be a staple whenever I would need a full-proof dessert recipe for a party or other event. You can also make the frosting Dana made to go with this cake, it is in the recipe post. I have not made that because frostings are usually too sweet for me but if you like them go ahead. Seriously, go and make some yourself! Now.

One-Bowl-Vegan-Chocolate-Cake-Easy-moist-so-fluffy-and-delicious
This is the original photo from the Minimalist Baker blog

You will only need:

unsweetened almond milk
apple cider vinegar
unsweetened applesauce
strong brewed coffee
melted coconut oil, or sub grape seed or canola oil
pure vanilla extract
whole wheat pastry flour or unbleached all-purpose flour
organic cane sugar (or sub granulated sugar)
unsweetened cocoa powder
baking soda
baking powder
tsp salt

I used home-made applesauce made from just blended apples because I had to improvise as well as I swapped baking powder for more baking soda. The cake turned out damn delicious so I gather that if you do the same it will be good too ;)

Preparation is extremely simple. I cannot post it here due to copyright and sharing restrictions but you can visit the Minimalist Baker blog to see the full how-to and make it yourself :)

Peace and love to you all, remember to be kind to every living being and to spread compassion and happiness wherever you go.

Adela

Leave a Reply

