Trip to Wrocław (Breslau) | Day 2

Day 2 was spent at the Zoo. We heard many great reviews of that place in Wrocław so we treated it as a must-see and went there on our first day. In the morning, we had a delicious breakfast. I had instant oats for the first time. I know, right??? And they were absolutely delicious and so convenient! I’m utterly amazed ahaha. I added to them some chia seeds, coconut rice milk, goji berries, shredded coconut, raisins, dried pineapple chunks and fresh dates. And no, I did not buy everything here, I took all this with me from home. Well, I only bought oats here. And potatoes, rice, veggies, fruit and spices.

When we were all carbed up and ready to hit the city we went to the zoo. I did not take any pictures there because I was so sorry for the animals and I did not want to share zoos as some amazing form of entertainment mainly for children. I am actually in two minds about them. On one hand, zoos are great for preserving endangered species from extinction. But on the other hand, animals are kept in cages outside their natural habitat and with all the kids screaming around them and parents shouting at their children. And yes, the condition in which the animals are kept is great but think of how YOU would feel if you were to spend your whole life in an enclosed area. How would you feel if you were forced to live only in your own house for 90 years of your life? I think that you would feel terrible. And that is what these animals feel like in zoos. This breaks my heart so so much and I’ve never felt so sad when wondering around a zoo.

Actually, as I was writing this I changed my mind. Zoos are not the only solution. Animals do not have to be in zoos in order to survive. What about animal sanctuaries? Their job is to save animals, right? Well, animals would still be in captivity but at least there will be no people treating them as some toys and entertainment. Only those who care and want to help would have access to them. Because people visiting zoos do not take any of the points I mentioned here into consideration and only think about their pleasure. It is so sad that we muted our inner compassion that was ingrained in us from the moment we were born. I am just so frustrated so I start to ramble. The main point I wanted to address is that zoos are actually not so good as they’re portrayed and that animals are, in my opinion, not feeling their best being kept in captivity their whole lives. Animals have to endure screaming kids and parents, the same small space all the time, annoying people and the list goes on. We started to treat them as a form of entertainment and that is f*cked up. Animals are living beings, earthlings just as we, and especially wild animals are not accustomed to be kept in cages or closed areas. If we really want to save species from extinction, we could put them into either strict wildlife sanctuaries and protect from hunters and deforestation and drought or animal sanctuaries with limited access. I think that that would be much better and healthier for the animals.

Ok, enough of that, I am starting to circle and ramble and I am going nowhere repeating myself ahaha.

We were so tired in the evening when we got to our hostel so the only thing we wanted to do was eat and watch something. We made delicious boiled potatoes, romaine lettuce, tomatoes, red bell pepper, cucumber and a mix of beetroot, salted cucumbers, green peas, spices and potatoes. This mix is absolutely amazing! It is so easy and quick and delicious. 100% recommend.

dav
Welcome to our little kitchen in the hostel!

On day 3 we are going to see some touristy stuff so there will be more photos, so I assume my posts would be more entertaining for you guys ;)

Peace and love to you all, remember to be kind to every living being and to spread compassion and happiness wherever you go.

Adela

Leave a Reply

