Millet and Carrot Patties | Vegan Dinner Idea

carrot-millet-patties

Long overdue but it is finally here! The recipe for my carrot and millet patties.

I came up with this recipe on my way home I guess when I wanted some kind of a patty for dinner. It was inspired by my friend’s mom who made millet patties for dinner when I visited them. So sweet of her to make me a vegan dinner, thank you so so much! She made them using only millet, caramelised onions, water and spices. So I thought they would be fairly easy to recreate, but also adding some carrots.

carrot-millet-patties-3-1

Super healthy.
Super delicious.
Super easy.
Super time-consuming, but hey, when you have time in the weekend make them in a bunch and eat for dinners during the week!

PRO TIP: When forming the patties squeeze them HARD so they don’t fall apart that easily! You can also add some flour if you wish and I think it should stick the batter more together.

Now, let’s get on with the recipe.

carrot-millet-patties-1-2-1

Ingredients:

5 medium carrots
70 ml mixed pumpkin and sunflower seeds
1 onion
2 cups cooked millet
0.5 tsp garlic granules
1 tsp ground caraway seed or cumin
1 tbsp dried parsley
1 tsp ground black pepper
salt
water to make it stick together
optional: bread crumbs to make the mixture stick together even more

Preparation:

1. Grate the carrots into a bowl.

2. Add the rest of the ingredients and mix well adding water as you go until you reach a point when the mixture sticks together nicely.

3. Roll the mixture into bowl or patties and fry in a frying pan. You might need to use oil so the patties crust a bit and stay put. You can also coat them with bread crumbs if you wish.

4. Serve as your heart desires and enjoy!

Peace and love to you all, remember to be kind to every living being and to spread compassion and happiness wherever you go.

Adela

Leave a comment